U15 Football Championship win v's Fingallians

posted 13 Oct 2014, 00:59 by Skerries Harps
Skerries Harps 3-9                   Fingallians 1-7

Fingallians started this game at a frantic rate dominating in all sectors
and racing into a an early lead through a well taken point  and a goal.
Skerries led by captain Mark Mulcahy gradually settled into the game with a
well struck Luke Harrison point. Both teams were guilty of poor shooting
and struggled to make an impact on the scoreboard till Fins scored three
points in a row. Skerries pegged the visitors back with three well taken
points by Ruairi Gielty keeping Skerries in touch at half time.

Skerries Harps 0-4        Fingallians 1-4

Skerries made some changes at the start of the second half which led to
them taking over the midfield exchanges and giving them a solid platform.
With Fingallians defending resolutely Skerries found scores very hard to
come by and their shot selection left a lot to be desired. Centre forward
Tom Carroll pulled on a loose ball from just outside the Fins 21 yard line
and drove it to the top corner of the Fins net.
This kick started  the Skerries revival and forwards Harrison, Keogh and
McBrien starting to dominate their markers scores started to follow. Fins
were still keeping in touch with some well taken scores but Skerries were
now in the ascendancy and tagged on some well worked scores. Half forward
Ben Keogh sealed the deal with a well taken goal after a penetrating run
leaving the excellent Fins keeper with no chance.Skerries will be thrilled
with their spirited comeback led by half backs Mikey Woods the excellent
Adam Bund, midfielders Ruairi Gielty and Sam Jones, forwards Ben Keogh,
Luke Harrison, Adam Bowyer and Thomas McBrien.

The large crowd were treated to an excellent game of football played in
perfect conditions. Harps will now play St. Peregrines in the final on
November 2nd venue to be confirmed.

Skerries Panel: Cormac Rocks, Mark Mulcahy (c), Cormac Hogan, Declan
O'Reilly, Mikey Woods, Adam Bund, Donal Cotter, Ruairi Gielty, Joe Marron,
Ben Keogh, Tom Carroll, Adam Bowyer, Dylan de Beer, Paddy Woods, Luke
Harrison, Sam Jones, Conor Walsh, Fionn O'Leary, Thomas McBrien, Killian
McGinnis, Callum McDonnell, Ciaran Foran, Ronan Horan, Conor Roycroft,
SENAD,      Sean Walls, Shane Dowling, Liam Woodcock, Fionnan O'Sullivan