U13 Hurling Weekend Match Report

posted 27 Aug 2014, 03:37 by Skerries Harps

U13 Div 6 Top 5 Hurling v’s St Annes 22/8/14

Score: 8-7 to 0-1.

Having finished joint 3rd in the league proper, we progressed to the Top 5 league, and our 1st game was against St Annes, the team that gave us a bad beating at the start of the year when our numbers were badly depleted. Our intent from the start was obvious, when Conor Nulty & Naoise Gilmore won the throw in. Mikey Joyce was to have his most influential match to date, scoring 3 goals, but one disallowed.

Poor Conor Waddilove had a quiet night in goal, but when called upon, he delivered pinpoint puck outs to his team.

Vamie elaware was the usual rock in defence, driving forward at every opportunity.

Adam Wynn & David Graham ran at the St Annes defence causing them problems, and leading to opportunities that Mikey & Jack Drumm converted. The launch pad for everything came from the half back duo of Darragh Archbold & Robert Kenny.

In the end the Harps won out well against a very valiant St Annes , who had travelled a long way for a week day match.

Top of the Top 5 league after 1 game. Well done lads.


U13 Div 1 Hurling v Ballyboden St Endas 23/8/14

Score: 1-7 to 4-10

One of the bravest displays by this Harps Division 1 hurling team, who are learning their trade the hard way against the hurling traditionalists of dublin. This Ballyboden team were probably the tallest team we played to date, but what was so impressive and so obvious is that this panel of hurlers can complete at the highest level, when we have our full panel available. Add to this, that we have the smallest hurling panel in division one.

At half time there was nothing in it, with Ballyboden edging it by a couple of scores. It toed & frowed with as has happened all year, every player giving it his all. In the end, the boden lads had too much for Skerries, but yet again, the boys never gave in.

Embrace the losses, they will make us stronger.

Team- Eoghan McDonald, Alan Joyce, Matthew kelly, Clinton opera, Cian Mullarkey, Finn Chatten, Adam El shamy, Jacob Grimes, Paul Wilde, Robert Delaney, David Boyd, Jack Drumm, Robert Kenny, Matthew Dooley, Conor Nulty, Darragh Archbold, David Graham.