Skerries Harps beat Castleknock in Junior Hurling Championship

posted 6 Jun 2016, 05:17 by Skerries Harps   [ updated 6 Jun 2016, 05:17 ]

Castleknock 2-5 Skerries Harps 1-23.   

Skerries junior hurlers’ responded to their first defeat of the season against Cuala nine days previously by scoring an emphatic championship win away to Castleknock last Tuesday evening.

On a beautiful sunny evening and with a pitch ready made for good hurling Skerries started this game with great intent. From the outset they used the wide open spaces of Somerton Park to give their forward line ample opportunity to display their scoring prowess. Early points from Ciaran and Andy Smith set the tone for the first quarter. A dominant midfield pairing of Ian Furlong and Kevin Gilmore were backed up by another strong display at centre back from Donal McIlgorm. It was fifteen minutes into the game before Castleknock opened their account. They were unfortunate not to add a goal when a great shot came back off the crossbar. Skerries went up the field and Cian Coleman scored a tremendous point from wide out on the left. This was the best of the Harps scores and they continued to add some good scores to lead by 0-13 to 0-2 at the break.

The home team started strongly in the second half. A combination of this increased effort and some slackness led to two goals early in the second half. For a brief period it looked like Skerries lead would be reduced further but the fine efforts of Aidan Kehoe, Sean Rocks and Gilmore stretched their lead again. Ciaran Smith continued his good form from frees and play finishing with ten points in total. The Harps goal arrived when Damian Ward collected a Gilmore shot that came back off the post and rifled a great shot to the Castleknock net. In the end the sea-siders returned home satisfied with a good win but knowing that stronger tests await later in the championship.

Harps: Oisin O’Leary, Robbie O’Connor, Jonathan Fay-Watt, Ciaran Furlong, Rob Ferguson, Donal McIlgorm, Jason Rogan, Kevin Gilmore(0-1), Ian Furlong, Cian Coleman (0-3), Aidan Kehoe(0-1), Andrew Smith(0-4), Shane Rice(0-1), Ciaran Smith(0-10 (5f), Sean Rocks(0-3)  Subs: Daniel Graham for O’Leary (h-t), Damian Ward (1-0) for Rice, Cathal Azzarpardi for Ciaran Smith.