League promotion & now Cup Winners! Congrats to our Junior 1 Footballers.

posted 21 Nov 2016, 04:05 by Skerries Harps   [ updated 24 Nov 2016, 06:22 ]

In a perfect day for football our Junior 1 adult football team played host to St Brigid’s in the final of the Stacy Cup to bring the curtain down on their competitive fixtures for 2016.

After securing promotion to AFL division 5 through the playoffs 2 weeks ago this was the perfect opportunity to finish the season in style.

In a tight and very competitive opening 10 minutes St Brigids registered the only point as both teams struggled to get into their stride.  The Harps eventually established the greater degree of control in the game and scored 4 unanswered points to edge in front.  Both teams traded further points before going into the break with a 5 points to 2 lead for Skerries.

A feature of the first half was the defending of Skerries Harps, they gave the opposition very few scoring opportunities and regularly turned over the ball.

St Brigid’s started the 2nd half well and with 2 quick scores brought the Skerries lead down to 2 points after Oisin O'Leary knocked over his 3 point of the game.  Thereafter Skerries fitness and direct running style began to cause St Brigid’s real problems. Skerries reeled off three unanswered points, all from play, before scoring two great team goals, one from Barry McDonald and one from Ronan O'Sullivan to win the Stacy Cup with a 2:09 to 0:05 score line.

So the seasons end for 2nd Adult football team with promotion secured and a cup win for good measure to add to the success of all of the adult football teams in the Club.

Best for Skerries were Oisin O'Leary, Fionn Geraghty, Mark Kirwan and Eddie Reilly and the man of the match goes to Kevin Cashman for his powerful running and link up play with his colleagues.

Team: Kevin Cashman, Kian Coleman, Alan Cullinan, Colin Clinton, Thomas Connolly, James Dillon, Aaron Duncan, Peter Ellis, Denis Forde, Robbie Ferguson, Fionn Geraghty, Liam Hickey, Aidan Kehoe, Mark Kirwan, Neil McConvey, Barry McDonald, Rob McKey, Eoin McLoughlin, Oisin O'Leary, Ronan O'Sullivan, Jason Rogan, Shane Rice, Eddie Reilly, Tommy Ryan, Ciaran Smith, Liam Smart