Harps Junior Hurlers great fightback just falls short!

posted 24 Jul 2018, 00:49 by Skerries Harps
Crumlin 2-19 Skerries Harps 2-17  

Skerries Harps junior hurlers returned from Pearse Park on Friday evening a very disappointed bunch. Having won their previous four games Skerries travelled with the intention of continuing that run and enhancing their promotion play-off hopes. However a disastrous opening three minutes were to prove fatal for Skerries. A dreadful defensive lapse resulted in a goal for Crumlin when Darren Whelans mishit shot ended up in the back of the unguarded net. Whilst Skerries responded with an Aidan Kehoe point another goal for Crumlin followed in the third minute when wing forward Eoin Corbett got in behind the Skerries defence  and netted.

Those early goals rattled the Skerries players and although Eoghan McGinley (3) and Barry Grimes (2) pointed well the home side were very efficient in adding to their scoreline. Crumlin finished the half well and left nine points in it at half time on a score-line of 2-12 to 0-9. Skerries tally of six wides in that half did not help their cause. 

In a very competitive third quarter both teams added some crucial scores with a goal from Skerries Shane Rice and three points from Ciaran Smith keeping the pressure on the home side. However, Crumlin added points at the same rate and at the three quarter stage there was still an eight point margin between the sides.

A totally dominant last quarter during which the Harps outscored the home side by 1-4 to 0-1 provided a very exciting finish to the game. Aidan Kehoe’s goal started this spell and points by Grimes (2), Kehoe and Denis Forde left the Harps within a score of victory. Fighting to the end they will rue the goal chances spurned in those final minutes when Shane Rice and Stephen and Jason Rogan all had opportunities.

A game against league leaders Cuala in mid-week provides an opportunity to produce a better performance and get back on the winning trail.

Harps: Oisin O’Leary, Robbie O’Connor, Paddy Fay-Watt , Rob Ferguson, Ian Furlong ,Andrew Smith , Jason Rogan, Jonathan Fay-Watt, Eoghan McGinley (0-5), Denis Forde (0-1) , Aidan Kehoe (1-2), Ciaran Smith (0-4, 1f),Barry Grimes(0-4), Donal Cotter, Shane Rice (1-1) Substitutes Stephen Rogan for Cotter.