GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Final - Match Summary

posted 23 Sep 2013, 00:31 by Skerries Harps

Dublin 2-12, Mayo 1-14

Some 82,274 fans packed into a sunny Croke Park on Sunday for the All-Ireland Final between Mayo and Dublin.

Mayo started well but missed a lot of wides. Keeper Mulligan pulled off some great saves for the westerners. The Dubs got a goal within 16 minutes which brought them back into the games.

Half Time:

Dublin 1-4 Mayo 0-8

First-half Scorers for Dublin:

B Brogan 1-1, D Connolly 0-1, S Cluxton 0-1 (0-1 45), E O’Gara 0-1.

First-half-Scorers for Mayo:

C O’Connor 0-2 (0-2f), A Moran 0-2, L Keegan 0-2, K Higgins 0-1, S O’Shea 0-1.

After a Mayo point in the 43rd minute, the teams were level again for the 4th time in the match. But an agressive Dublin display saw them in front by three after 48 minutes, then in the 50th minute, a Mayo goal brought level for the fifth time.

Then, around three minutes later, a Brogan goal put the Dubs in front by three. Ten minutes to go, it was Dublin 2-10, Mayo 1-10.

An O’Connor point for Mayo in the 62nd minute, left two points in it. A 65th point for Dunlin in 65th minute restored the three-point lead with five minutes to go.

Mayo and Dublin both got the ball between the posts, to level again, before a Dublin free 3 minutes from time, restored the three point lead.

Four minutes of added time were given at the 70th minute, with the scores:

Dublin 2-12, Mayo 1-12

Two Mayo points made it 1-14 for Mayo in the last minute.

Dublin holds the Sam Maguire again

Dublin team

Jim Gavin has made one change to his Dublin team to play Mayo, with Kevin O’Brien replaced by Ballymun’s Philly McMahon.

Stephen Cluxton;
Philip McMahon,
Rory O’Carroll,
Jonny Cooper,
James McCarthy,
Ger Brennan,
Jack McCaffrey;
Michael Dara Macauley,
Cian O’Sullivan;
Paul Flynn,
Ciaran Kilkenny,
Diarmuid Connolly,
Paul Mannion,
Paddy Andrews,
Bernard Brogan

Mayo team

James Horan has kept with the same team that defeated Tyrone in the Semi-Final.

1. Robert Hennelly – Breaffy
2. Tom Cunniffe – Castlebar Mitchels
3. Ger Cafferkey – Ballina Stephenites
4. Chris Barrett – Belmullet
5. Lee Keegan – Westport
6. Donal Vaughan – Ballinrobe
7. Colm Boyle – Davitts
8. Aidan O’Shea – Breaffy
9. Seamus O’Shea – Breaffy
10. Kevin McLoughlin – Knockmore
11. Keith Higgins – Ballyhaunis
12. Alan Dillon – Ballintubber
13. Cillian O’Connor – Ballintubber
14. Alan Freeman – Aghamore
15. Andy Moran – Ballaghaderreen


Electric Ireland GAA Football All-Ireland Minor Championship Final

Mayo 2-13 Tyrone 1-13

Mayo ended a 28-year wait for All-Ireland minor football glory with victory over Tyrone in the early game on a sunny Sunday game at Croke Park.

Scorers for Mayo:

T Conroy 1-3, D Doherty 1-2, Irwin 0-4 (4f), C Loftus 0-3 (1f), C Byrne 0-1

Scorers for Tyrone:

C McKenna 1-2, L Brennan 0-4 (3f), R Nugent 0-2, David Mulgrew 0-1, R McGlone 0-1, D Gallagher 0-1 (1f), P Donnelly 0-1, C McShane 0-1


M Mulligan; E Doran, S Cunniffe, D Kenny; M Hall, S Coen, S Conlon; V Roughneen, D O’Connor; C Loftus, M Plunkett, P Prendergast; D Doherty, L Irwin, T Conroy. Subs: C Byrne for D Doherty (52), H Cafferty for M Plunkett (60), F Duffy for L Irwin (62)

S Fox; C Byrne, R Quinn, C McCann; S Hamill, C Morris, P McGirr; R Nugent, F Burns; D Mulgrew, C McKenna, R McGlone; L Brennan, D Gallagher, S McGrath. Subs: C McShane for R McGlone (41), P Donnelly for S McGrath (41), M Lynn for P McGirr (48), S O’Donnell for D Gallagher (56)