Dublin v Meath - Leinster SFC final Live in the Clubhouse

posted 9 Jul 2013, 06:26 by Skerries Harps   [ updated 12 Jul 2013, 02:36 ]
Clubhouse open from 1:30pm on Sunday

Kerry have become the first county to qualify for the GAA Football All-Ireland senior quarter-finals
after winning the Munster title and next Sunday it’s the turn of Dublin and Meath to battle it out for
the right to enter the last eight as Leinster champions.
They meet for a second successive year in the Leinster final in Croke Park (2.0). On Saturday, there
are four All-Ireland Round 2 qualifiers on the programme to decide who joins Galway, Laois, Derry
and Tyrone in the draw for Round 3.

The full weekend programme is as follows:
Saturday, All-Ireland qualifiers (Round 2)
Longford v Wexford, Glennon Brothers Pearse Park, 2.0
Leitrim v Armagh, Carrick-on-Shannon, 5.0
Cavan v Fermanagh, Kingspan Breffni Park, 7.0
Kildare v Louth, Newbridge, 7.0
Leinster SF final: Dublin v Meath, Croke Park, 2.0

Next Sunday’s clash will be the 60th championship meeting between the counties, stretching back
to 1894 when they met for the first time in a game that finished level (0-4 each). Dublin lead 32-19
with eight draws from the previous 59 meetings.
Dublin are seeking their 8th Leinster title in nine seasons (2005-06-07-08-09-11-12) Meath’s last
success was in 2010.

How they got here…
Dublin 1-22 Westmeath 0-9
Dublin 4-16 Kildare 1-9
Average For: 2-21 Average Against: 0-11

Dublin Scorers
Bernard Brogan…..1-9 (0-5 frees)
Paddy Andrews……1-4
Diarmuid Connolly.1-3
Paul Mannion……….1-2
Eoghan O’Gara…….1-2
Ciaran Kilkenny……0-5
Stephen Cluxton…..0-4 (0-4 ‘45’s)
Dean Rock……………0-4 (0-3 frees)
Paul Flynn……………0-2
Cian O’Sullivan……0-1
Jack McCaffrey……0-1
Ger Brennan………..0-1

Meath 1-17 Wicklow 1-12
Meath 0-18 Wexford 0-13
Meath’s Scorers
Michael Newman….0-14 (0-13 frees, 0-1 ’45)
Graham Reilly……..0-8
Kevin Reilly…………1-0
Eamonn Wallace….0-4
Stephen Bray ………0-2
Peadar Byrne ………0-2
Joe Sheridan…………0-1
Paddy Gilsenan…….0-1
Padraic Harnan…….0-1
Bryan Menton………0-1
Brian Meade………..0-1

Last Five Championship Clashes
2012: Dublin 2-13 Meath 1-13 (Leinster final)
2010: Meath 5-9 Dublin 0-13 (Leinster semi-final)
2009: Dublin 0-14 Meath 0-12 (Leinster quarter-final)
2007: Dublin 0-16 Meath 0-12 (Leinster quarter-final) Replay
2007: Dublin 1-11 Meath 0-14 (Leinster quarter-final)

Last Five Leinster Final Clashes
2012: Dublin 2-13 Meath 1-13
2001: Meath 2-11 Dublin 0-14
1999: Meath 1-14 Dublin 0-12
1996: Meath 0-10 Dublin 0-8
1995: Dublin 1-18 Meath 1-8

Last year….
Dublin 2-13 Meath 1-13
Dublin led by 0-6 to 0-1 after 16 minutes and by 2-7 to 0-5 after Bernard Brogan and Denis Bastick
struck for two goals just before half-time. Dublin led by 2-11 to 0-7 at the three-quarter stage before
Meath staged a great rally which saw them out-score their rivals by 1-6 to 0-2 in the final quarter to
cut the deficit to three points.

Previous Leinster title wins
Dublin 51 (1891-92-94-96-97-98-99-1901-02-04-06-07-08-20-21-22-23-24-32-33-34-41-42-55-58-
Meath 21 (1895-1939-40-47-49-51-52-54-64-66-67-70-86-87-88-90-91-96-99-2001-2010)

They meet for the second successive year having been involved in two high-quality
Leinster quarter-final clashes last year. They drew in Croke Park before Wexford won the
replay in Tullamore by a point.
Both have had two championship outings so far this year. Wexford beat Louth by 2-13 to 1-
15 before losing the Leinster semi-final to Meath by 0-18 to 0-13. Longford lost a Leinster
first round tie to Wicklow by 1-15 to 0-16 before getting back on track in Round 1 of the
All-Ireland qualifiers with a 2-14 to 0-9 win over Limerick.

Last Five Championship Clashes
2012: Wexford 1-13 Longford 0-15 (Leinster quarter-final) Replay
2012: Longford 2-9 Wexford 0-15 (Leinster quarter-final)
2000: Wexford 3-9 Longford 0-12 (Leinster Round Robin)
1999: Longford 2-15 Wexford 0-11 (Leinster 1st round) Replay
1999: Longford 1-13 Wexford 0-16 (Leinster preliminary round)

They last met in the championship in 2010 when Louth won a high-scoring encounter in
Navan. Brian White (0-6), Shane Lennon (0-4), Colm Judge (0-4) were top scorers for
Louth beat Laois (1-16 to 1-6) in this year’s Leinster first round before losing to Wexford
by 2-13 to 1-15 in the quarter-final. They bounced back in Round 1 of the qualifiers,
beating Antrim by 1-17 to 1-11.
Kildare beat Offaly by 0-19 to 1-12 in the Leinster quarter-final before losing to Dublin by
4-16 to 1-9 in the semi-final. Kildare have an excellent record in the qualifiers in recent
times, using them to reach the All-Ireland quarter-final in each of the last five years.

Last Five Championship Clashes
2010: Louth 1-22 Kildare 1-16 (Leinster quarter-final)
2002: Kildare 0-12 Louth 0-11 (Leinster quarter-final)
2000: Kildare 1-12 Louth 0-12 (Leinster quarter-final)
1995: Louth 0-13 Kildare 0-11 (Leinster quarter-final)
1991: Louth 2-11 Kildare 2-10 (Leinster quarter-final)

It’s the first championship clash between the counties. Armagh lost to Cavan by 1-16 to 1-
11 in the Ulster preliminary round but bounced back impressively in the All-Ireland
qualifiers, winning their first round game against Wicklow by 2-21 to 0-2.
This will be Leitrim’s fourth championship outing this year. They beat New York by 4-19
to 0-7 in the Connacht first round before drawing with London (0-13 to 2-7) in the semifinal.
Leitrim lost the replay by 2-11 to 1-13.

The meet for a second time in a month after Cavan beat Fermanagh by 0-13 to 0-11 in the
Ulster quarter-final in Enniskillen on June 16. They also met in last year’s championship
when Cavan won by 3-13 to 0-15 in a Round 1 qualifier.
Cavan, who beat Armagh by 1-16 to 1-11 in the Ulster preliminary round, lost the semifinal
to Monaghan by 1-10 to 0-12. Fermanagh re-launched their championship bid with a
3-10 to 1-15 win over Westmeath in the first round of the All-Ireland qualifiers.

Last Five Championship Clashes
2013: Cavan 0-13 Fermanagh 0-11 (Ulster quarter-final)
2012: Cavan 3-13 Fermanagh 0-15 (All-Ireland Qualifiers – Round 1)
2010: Fermanagh 1-13 Cavan 0-13 (Ulster quarter-final)
2009: Cavan 0-13 Fermanagh 1-9 (Ulster quarter-final)
2003: Fermanagh 0-16 Cavan 1-10 (All-Ireland qualifiers)

*Kerry have reached the All-Ireland quarter-finals for the 13th successive year after beating
Cork by 1-16 to 0-17 in the Munster final. Kerry have qualified for the quarter-finals every
year since the championship system was changed in 2001.
*Cork are the first county into Round 4 of the qualifiers after losing the Munster final to
Kerry. They will be joined by the losers of Mayo v London, Dublin v Meath, Donegal v
Monaghan and the four winners from the Round 3 qualifiers ties.
*Galway, Laois, Derry and Tyrone are through to Round 3 of the qualifiers where they will
be joined by the winners of Armagh v Leitrim, Kildare v Louth, Wexford v Longford,
Cavan v Fermanagh.