AFL2 Senior Football - Nine from Nine for on Song Harps!

posted 23 Jun 2016, 00:34 by Skerries Harps

Skerries Harps 2-17. Naomh Mearnog 0-5.

On a fine Summer’s evening in Skerries, the home side were putting their unbeaten start to the season in AFL2 on the line against third in the table Naomh Mearnog.

Skerries were quick off the mark with a goal finished to the net by Colin Daly after a superb delivery from Bryan Cullen.

Soon after the strong running Sean Rocks pointed after a fine move, and when Donnacha Reilly pointed from a free Harps were in control of this game. Mearnog replied with three quick points before Harry Dawson, Jack Smith and Cullen restored the home sides five point lead which they increased when a shot from Cullen was parried only for Centre half back Davy O'Brien to pick up the rebound and finish to the net with aplomb for A rare and deserved goal for the defender. Skerries added further points from Dawson and a super score on the run from full forward Daly which was the score of the game.

The teams went in at half time Harps 2-7 Mearnog 0-4.

The league leaders continued on the front foot after the break with one pointers from Dawson, Gerry and Colin Daly and the writing was on the wall for the visitors. With Sean Rocks, Donnacha Reilly and Mark Boylan controlling the game Harps increased their advantage with scores from newcomer Robert Mc Kee and the returning Graham Cullen to run out winners on a score line of  Harps 2-17 Naomh Mearnog 0-5. After this result Harps now have gone nine wins in a row and have a four point lead over Clontarf in the league standings.

Next up for Harps is a tricky away game V St. Pats Donabate on Saturday next in Donabate at 6.30pm. But Skerries will go there in high spirits following this victory tonight.

Great to see the three Smith brothers back together on a Harps team and all three contributed immensely to the teams victory.

Skerries Harps: Shane Davis, Ross McGarry, Eoin McGinley, Eoin Smith, Rory Newsholme, Davy O'Brien (1-0), Jack Smith (0-1), Mark Boylan, Donnacha Reilly (0-1), Sean Rocks (0-1),Harry Dawson (0-4), Bryan Cullen (0-3), Stephen Smith, Colin Daly (1-3), Gerry Daly (0-1).

Subs Barry Davey (0-1), Conor O'Brien, Graham Cullen (0-1),Robert McKee (0-1), Fionn Geraghty, Eoin McLoughlin.